Academic Department University Of Calcutta


Year of Establishment : 1919

History of the department : The establishment of the University of Calcutta in 1857 was a commitment towards developing Bengal as a Center of Learning and is the first modern university in the Indian subcontinent. The University is a state-government administered urban-based affiliating and Research University, with eight campuses in the city. The Department of Zoology, established in 1919, has its niche in the Taraknath Palit Shikshya Prangan, popularly known as the Ballygunge campus, and facilitates research and teaching in the subject at the post-graduate level.

Department of Zoology began its journey with D. Mukherjee as its first student and Prof. S. N. Moulik, eminent entomologist, as the first Professor. Subsequently the chair was held by Prof. B.K. Das, a noted icthyologist (1926-31), followed by Prof. H. K. Mukherjee, well known for his seminal contribution in comparative anatomy and developmental biology. After Prof. Mukherjee the chair was offered to Prof. J. L. Bhaduri, D.Sc. (Edin) in 1955. Prof. Bhaduri had made seminal contribution in reproductive endocrinology of amphibians.

During the same period, Prof. S. P. Roy Chaudhury, a PhD student of Nobel Laureate Herman J. Muller, was consolidating a Genetics Research Unit in the department. Prof. Roy Chaudhury worked on a variety of organisms like grasshoppers, Drosophila, spiders and even snakes, an escape story of which still enamors the minds of our students. Thus, the milestone was set for a glorious journey down time.

The history of the department was later enriched by altruistic contributions of a galaxy of teachers and scientists in India and abroad, like R. Bhattacharjee, HL Chaudhury (introduced a low cost method for induced breeding in India), Sivatosh Mookherjee, DK Choudhury, GK Manna, Amalesh Chowdhury, Satyabrata Nandi, Deben Banerjee, Ardhendu Mukherjee, SC Lakhotia, Tapan Kumar Banerjee, Sushil Mahato and Utpal Bhadra- to name a few. Prof. D. N. Ganguli for the first time introduced the ideas of neurosecretory cellular patterns in the brains of crustaceans. Prof. Asok Ghosh developed histology and endocrinology courses in the department and was the recipient of a Rockefeller grant for research.

A number of luminaries have visited this department as guests. The department had Prof. J. B. S. Haldane and Dr. Helen Spurway as visiting faculties to teach Genetics to the post-graduate students. Dr. D. C. Louch from Johns Hopkins University taught Ecology during 1961-64. Among other eminent academic personalities who visited this department are Sir Julian Huxley, T. Dobzhansky, A. I. Oparin, C. S. H. Waddington, A. Monroy, Otto Kepca, H. A. Bern and Ernst Mayr.

The department has the distinction of admitting meritorious students and has continued to produce outstanding students till date, some of whom have returned to the department in an earnest effort to continue the glorified tradition. Yet others have established themselves in academic and non-academic institutions and professions, in India and all over the world, accentuating the versatility instilled in students of this department. The department has encountered major upliftments in the last five years in terms of economy and curriculum, adorned by a modernized semester course and supported by DST-FIST and UGC-SAP programmes, which has paved the way towards becoming a Center of Excellence in the near future. The department will celebrate its centenary year in 2018.

Special award/ recognition from UGC or related statutory body :  UGC-SAP II, DST-FIST Level II


Faculty Members
Name Designation Area of specialisation Email Id
Dr. Sumit Home chaudhuri
Professor Fishery Sciences
Dr. Gautam Kr. Saha
Professor Wild life and Allergy
Dr.Sajal Ray
Professor Toxicology and Immunology
Dr. Madhusudan Das
Professor Endocrinology and Human Genetics
Dr. Parthiba Basu
Professor Ecology
Dr. Urmi Chatterji
Professor Cancer and Molecular Biology  
Dr. Sagartirtha Sarkar
Professor Cell and Molecular Biology
Dr. Ena Ray Banerjee
Professor & HOD ImmunoBiology and Regenerative Medicine
Dr. Arindam Bhattacharyya
Professor Immunology
Dr. Gautam Aditya
Professor Ecology
Dr. Suman Bhusan Chakraborty
Associate Professor Fishery Sciences
Dr. Sujay Ghosh
Associate Professor Genetics
Dr. Amlan Das
Assistant Professor Entomology
Dr. Rakesh Tamang
Assistant Professor Human Evolutionay Genetics

Courses :

Programme Level of study Eligibility Intake capacity
M.Sc. Zoology
[Click here for Syllabus]
Postgraduate B.Sc.(H) in Zoology 75 /semester
Ph.D. Zoology Doctorate M.Sc. in any branch of Life Sciences 8/laboratory + external


Thrust areas in teaching and research of the academic department : Cancer Biology, Fisheries Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Cell and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Envirmonmental Biology and Toxicology, Endocrinology, Entomology, Wild Life Biology, Bioresource and Biotechnology.

Research support :
Sl.No. Name of the Instrument Company make Model no. Funding agency
1 Gel documentation system BIORAD XRS UGC-SAP
2 Cold centrifuge HERMLE Z323 K DST-FIST
3 Cold centrifuge EPPENDORF 5810 R UGC-SAP
4 Centrifuge EPPENDORF   UGC-SAP
5 Spectrophotometer CECIL CE 4002 DST-FIST
6 Spectrophotometer SHIMADZU UV-1700 DST-FIST
7 Fluorescence Microscope OLYMPUS BX 51 UGC-SAP
8 Photo-Microscope ZEISS Axiostar plus DST-FIST
9 Binocular Microscope ZEISS Stemi 2000-C DST-FIST
11 Ultra freezer (-800 C) THERMO FORMA -86C ULT FREEZER DST-FIST
13 Balance ( fine) METTLER AL 104 UGC-SAP
16 Ice Maker SIMAG   UGC-SAP
17 MilliQ Water Purifier System SARTORIUS ARIUM UGC-SAP
19 Confocal Microscope Olympus   DST-FIST
20 Real Time PCR Applied Biosciences   DST-FIST
21 Cryocut Leica   DST-FIST
Links :


Campus : Taraknath Palit Siksha Prangan (Ballygange Campus)

Address for communication : Department of Zoology, University of Calcutta, 35, Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata - 700019, West Bengal, India