• 51/2 Hazra Road, Kolkata-700019

Centre of Atmospheric Science


Year of Establishment : 1985-1986

History of the department : Center for Atmospheric Science was established in between 1985-1986.Afterwards, it was transferred to a Department in the year 2002. First,M.tech. Degree was offered from this center.Now M.Sc. Degree is offered since 2002.Every year 16 students are admitted in our Department.After obtaining M.Sc. Degree,students are carrying out research works in different institutes throughout the world. Some of them are also carrying out their research works in our Department.After obtaining Ph.D. degree,some of them are appointed as assistant professor in different universities and colleges.Some student are also appointed as scientist in different research institutes.Some of them are also working in different offices.


Faculty members :

Name Designation Area of specialisation Email Phone number
Dr. Subrata Kumar Midya
Professor Airglow Emissions, Ozone Depletion, Solar Physics, Interstellar Molecules,   Earthquake and Tropospheric Phenomena drskm06@yahoo.co.in 9433609129
Dr. Sutapa Chaudhuri Professor (Superannuated)   chaudhuri_sutapa@yahoo.com   9830017165


Research scholars: 14 Students are carrying out research works under guidance of two proferssors.

Collaborations :

Title of the programme Principal collaborator of the department Name and address of the collaborating institution Principal collaborator of the collaborating institution Duration of the programme
Weather and Lightning study Prof.S.K.Midya Earth Networks,Inc. 12410 Milestone Center Drive,Germantown MD 20876('EN') In charge of Earth Networks 10 years

Thrust areas in teaching and research of the academic department : Different Atmospheric Phenomena of all zones of our Atmosphere,earthquake Phenomena, Solar physics.

Major activities : Recently, autometic weather station and lightning detector is set up in collaboration with Earth Networks on the roof of our Department. Recently Skymet started placement activity for our students.


Campus : Taraknath Palit Sikshaprangan (Ballygunge Science College)

Address for communication : 51/2 Hazra Road, University of Calcutta, Kolkata-700019